Events

The Association runs a series of lectures aimed at new or would-be beekeepers (but of interest to everybody) in early spring.

In season, volunteers work at the Crathes apiary on Sundays between 10:00 am and 12:00 am.  Please always contact Naomi Adams, the Crathes apiary manager, before visiting the apiary.


Events marked * are particularly recommended for first-year beekeepers.
Please note that apiary visits are weather dependant.


2020 Events:


Demonstration – Winter Varroa Control and Feeding * – Malcolm Watson
Sunday, 5 January
Crathes Apiary (by overflow car park), Crathes Castle, AB31 5QJ


Talk – The SBA Exam System – Graham Torrie
Thursday, 16 January at 7pm
Kinellar Hall, Fintray Road, Blackburn AB21 0JQ


Talk – Poly vs Wood Hives – Joan Gilbert-Stevens
Tuesday, 11 February at 7pm
Kinellar Hall, Fintray Road, Blackburn AB21 0JQ


Annual Introduction to beekeeping course 2020

Six 90-minute lectures starting at 7:00 pm every Tuesday between 25 February and 31 March
MacRobert Building, University of Aberdeen, 581 King St, Aberdeen AB24 5UD
You can enrol on the course via Eventbrite.


AGM plus talk – Going to the Oilseed Rape – Graeme Sharpe
Sunday, 15 March at 2pm
Kinellar Hall, Fintray Road, Blackburn AB21 0JQ


SBA Exams
Saturday, 21 March
Westhill Library, Westhill Drive, Aberdeen AB32 6FY


Talk – The Scottish Native Honey Bee Society – Euan Campbell
Tuesday, 14 April at 7pm
Venue tba


Demonstration – Spring inspection * – Hugh Donohoe, Expert Beekeeper (or Beemaster)
Sunday 19 April at 2pm
Crathes Apiary (by overflow car park), Crathes Castle, AB31 5QJ


Demonstration – Swarm Control * – Graham Torrie
Saturday 2 May at 2pm
Crathes Apiary (by overflow car park), Crathes Castle, AB31 5QJ


Basic Practical Courses * – Ian Mackley
Saturday, 9 May and Saturday 23 May
(details to follow, booking required)


Demonstration – Health Inspection * – Kirsty Sutherland
Sunday 7 June at 2pm
Crathes Apiary (by overflow car park), Crathes Castle, AB31 5QJ


Visit – Queen-rearing apiary – Murray McGregor
Saturday 13 June
Couper Angus
(details to follow)


Royal Highland Show
Thursday 18 June – Sunday 21 June
Edinburgh


Healthy Bees Manipulation Course – Tony Harris
Thursday 11 June – Friday 12 June
Crathes Apiary (by overflow car park), Crathes Castle, AB31 5QJ
Booking required


Visit – Kemnay Bee Group Visit – Sonia McPherson
Saturday 18 July
Details to follow


Turriff Show
Sunday 2 August – Monday 3 August
Turriff Show Ground


Talk – Science Update – Amy Cooper
Tuesday 18 August
Venue tba


Demonstration – Winter Preparations * – Ian Mackley
Sunday 30 August at 2pm
Crathes Apiary (by overflow car park), Crathes Castle, AB31 5QJ


SBA Autumn Convention
Saturday 12 September
Loch Leven Community Campus, Muirs, KInross KY13 8FQ


Honey Show
Saturday 10 October
Details to follow


Annual Convention – How to become a better beekeeper – Celia Davis and Graham Royle
Saturday 7 November
Details to follow


SBA Exams
Saturday 14 November
Westhill Library, Westhill Drive, Aberdeen AB32 6FY


Social Evening
Friday 4 December
Kingswells Church Hall , Old Skene Rd, Kingswells, Aberdeen AB15 8QE