Events

The Association runs a series of lectures aimed at new or would-be beekeepers (but of interest to everybody) in early spring.

In season, volunteers work at the Crathes apiary on Sundays between 10:00 am and 12:00 am.  Please always contact Naomi Adams, the Crathes apiary manager, before visiting the apiary.


Spring lecture series 2018

[Please note: these lectures are now fully booked.]

Lecture Theatre, Aberdeen Grammar, Skene Street, Aberdeen

Seven Thursday evenings commencing 15 February 2018, 7:30pm

The seven-week programme costs:

  • £30 for non-members and new ADBKA members who join in 2018;
  • £10 for ADBKA members who joined in 2017 or earlier.

ADBKA members in full-time education can attend free of charge.

Fees will be collected before the first class (cash or cheque only) but attendees are requested to register in advance by contacting David Morland (M: 07768244420).

Programme

15 Februay – The Life of the Honey Bee
22 February – The Hive and the Apiary
1 March – Equipment, Bees, and getting Started [Cancelled due to the adverse weather conditions.]
8 March – Products of the Hive
15 March – Help, there is Something Wrong with my Bees
22 March – The Beekeeping Year

5 April – The cancelled beginners’ class.  Further information including venue will be shared during the classes at Aberdeen Grammar before then.

19 April – Practical : Assembly of Hive Parts – Drama Room at Aberdeen Grammar School


AGM and lectures – Local Honey Shows and Show Preparation
by Hugh Donohoe and John McGregor

Saturday, 28 April 2018 at 2pm
Kinellar Hall, Fintray Road, Blackburn. AB21 0JQ


Demonstration – Swarm Control
by Graham Torrie

Saturday, 12 May 2018
Crathes Apiary, Banchory AB31 5QJ


Apiary Visit and Swarm Control
by Kitta Potgieter

Saturday, 26 May 2018
Sunnyside Croft, Overbrae, AB53 5SL


Apiary Visit and Nuc-making
by Erling Watt

Saturday, 9 June 2018
Aden Park, Mintlaw AB42 5FQ


Royal Highland Show

Thursday, 21 to 24 June 2018
Edinburgh


Apiary Visit – Queen Rearing
by Murray McGregor

Saturday, 30 June 2018
Coupar Angus (more details to follow)


Beechgrove Garden Visit
by Mairi Rattray

Thursday, 19 July 2018
Easter Ord (more details to follow)


Demonstration – Disease Inspection
by Kirsty Sutherland

Saturday, 28 July 2018
Crathes Apiary, Banchory AB31 5QJ


Turriff Show

Sunday, 5 August to Monday, 6 August 2018


Social Event with Barbeque
by Joan Gilbert-Stevens

Saturday, 11 August 2018
Muir of Fowlis (details to follow)


SBA Convention
celebrating
Glasgow and District Beekeepers’ Association Centenary 1918-2018

Saturday, 22 September to Sunday, 23 September

Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons
232-242 St Vincent Street
Glasgow G3 4RJ

Speakers:
Clive de Bruyn
Margaret Murdin
Margaret Lear

(More details to follow)


Demonstration – Winter Preparations
by Malcolm Watson

Saturday, 29 September 2018 at 2pm
Crathes Apiary, Banchory AB31 5QJ


Honey Show

Saturday 20 October 2018
Kinellar Hall, Fintray Road, Blackburn, AB21 0JQ


SBA Exams

Saturday, 10 November at 10am
(Venue to be announced)


ADBKA Convention with Social Evening

Saturday 17 November
(Venue and more details to follow)


Lecture – Insect and Bird Photography
by Bob Humphreys

Saturday, 1 December at 2pm
Kinellar Hall, Fintray Road, Blackburn, AB21 0JQ


Advertisements